Board Members

Home / About / Board Members


2022 Board Members

  • Carol Sisco, Ph.D., Chairman Carol is the managing partner of Sisco Associates. She has worked as a clinician, consultant, and researcher in the field of addictions. She is the former Board Chair of the National Association for Children of Addiction (NACoA), a former chair of Reach Out Recovery (ROR), and a previous board member of Reading is Fundamental (RIF).
  • Andrew Davis, Vice Chairman Andrew Davis is a retired Marine Corps Reserve Major General, and most recently served as the Director of the CAPSTONE course at the National Defense University. In his civilian career, General Davis served for over 30 years in the newspaper industry as a publisher, editor, and reporter.
  • Cindy Whittle, Treasurer Cindy is a retired math teacher and curriculum development specialist. In 2012, Cindy and her husband retired and returned to Annapolis, where she became involved with the AMM as a volunteer. Eventually she joined the staff as the Venue Manager and built the program into a successful and robust feature for the Museum. Cindy had served as board president of Monterey Bay Spouse’s Club, as board treasurer of Child Justice in Silver Spring and as an active member of Anne Arundel Women Giving Together.
  • Anne Harrington, Secretary A real estate agent since 2004 with Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage in downtown Annapolis, Anne joined the board in 2018. She is the co-founder of Box of Rain, now affiliated with the Museum. Box of Rain served has served over 500 local youth, introducing them to maritime and environmental studies, including boat building.
  • L.B. (Buck) Buchanan, Chair Emeritus Former advertising director at Leo Burnett Advertising, Chicago, and retired marketing executive for H.J. Heinz Company, Buck led the marketing campaigns for StarKist Foods, Weight Watchers and Nestle’s Taster’s Choice. Buck joined the Museum Board in 2001, serving as Chairman until 2010.
  • Ted Berkinshaw Ted is a Board Certified orthodontist who has been in active practice in Annapolis since 1981. He has been actively involved in Education having been a Senior Attending on the staff at Washington Hospital Center’s Orthodontic Residence Program since 1986. He is a past member and Chairman of the American Association of Orthodontists Council on Communications. He is Chair of the AMM Education Advisory Board. Ted joined the AMM Board in 2012.
  • Agnes Cobbum Agnes is currently a Principal, Regulatory Affairs with Swiftwater Group, a drug development consulting firm. She began her career as a marine natural product chemist and held positions at Alba Therapeutics, MGI Pharma, and Guilford Pharmaceuticals. She moved to Annapolis in 1998 and joined the AMM Board in 2011.
  • Derrick Cogburn Ph.D. Derrick is the founding Skipper of Sea Scout Ship 1959 in Annapolis. He serves as Vice Commodore of the Seafarers Yacht Club and as a board member of the Seafarers Foundation. Derrick is a member of the Board of Governors for the Chesapeake Bay Yacht Clubs Association, currently as Secretary. He also serves on the boards of the U.S. Chess Center and the Global Universal Design Commission. Professionally, Dr. Cogburn is a full professor at American University. He is the founding Executive Director of the AU Institute on Disability and Public Policy, and Faculty Co-Director of the AU Internet Governance Lab. In addition, he is Managing Member in Praxis Analytics, LLC, based in Annapolis.
  • Jay Fleming Jay is a professional photographer, educator, and publisher. He has worked around the world in the field of fisheries while documenting life on and in the water. The primary focus for his photography is on his home waters of the Chesapeake Bay. He also serves on the board of Smith Island United. Jay has a B.S. in Economics from St. Mary’s College of Maryland and two postgraduate degrees in Environmental Sciences.
  • Dick Franyo Dick is a retired investment banker with Alex Brown of Baltimore and is currently the owner of the Boatyard Bar & Grill in Eastport. Past President of the National Sailing Hall of Fame, Board member of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Anne Arundel Medical Center Foundation Board, Community Foundation of Anne Arundel County, Annapolis Economic Development Corporation, Eastport Business Association, Dick has been vital in countless community organizations, joining the Board of AMM in 2003.
  • Michael Hughes Michael is currently President/Partner WRNR Radio, Annapolis, and WYRE, St Augustine, Florida, and President of MH Media Strategies, an independent marketing/consulting firm. A former board member of the Washington Redskins Charitable Foundation and the March of Dimes, as well as six other community service organizations, Michael now serves on the Boards of the D.C. based Clean Energy Partnership, Maryland Theater for Performing Arts, Camp Letts YMCA, Anne Arundel Medical Center Foundation, and Annapolis Recreation and Parks.
  • Steve Picarde Steve joined the AMM Board in 2011. He is currently President and Founder of PI Midlantic, an Annapolis based consulting firm that builds high-performance organizations by applying proven systems in areas of Talent Management, Organizational Development, Executive Coaching, and Sales Assessment/Training.
  • Eric M. Rubin Eric is a partner with the Washington, D.C. law firm of Rubin, Winston, Diercks, Harris, & Cooke, LLP. Eric joined the Museum’s Board of Directors in 2006 and also served as its Counsel prior to being elected Chairman in 2011. Eric is a founder of the Chesapeake Legal Alliance and previously served as a Director of the Hebrew Home of Greater Washington.
  • Ann Schweitzer Ann is a marketing executive with over 25 years of experience in both the business and non-profit sectors. She has served on numerous boards and committee roles for a multitude of worthy non-profits including Board Chair for IONA Senior Services, a Board Member for The Lupus Foundation, Founding member of Box of Rain, Board Member for The American Women’s Club of London as well as Grants Committee Member for Anne Arundel Women’s Giving Circle.
  • Frank Thorp Frank joined the AMM Board in February of 2019. He is a 1981 graduate of the United States Naval Academy. He served as Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense and as the Navy’s Chief of Information. Following his Navy career, he was Vice President for Communications and Government Operations for AM General and Senior Vice President of Marketing and Communications for the USO and is a principal in Quattro Communications Inc.
  • Jack Whitelaw A retired executive with Exxon Mobil, in areas of financial management, strategic planning, public affairs, and insurance, Jack currently serves as Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Scholarships for Scholars, Inc. He is a member of the Rotary Club of Annapolis and joined the AMM Board in 2007.

Education Advisory Committee

  • Josh Falk | Chair of Education Advisory Committee
  • Paul Bayne | Key School, Outdoor Education Department Head
  • Beth Foster | Anne Arundel County Public Schools, Annapolis High School, Assistant Principal
  • Amanda Miller | Anne Arundel County Public Schools, Environmental Literacy and Outdoor Education Office at Arlington Echo
  • Nancy Merrill | Arundel Rivers Federation, Outreach Manager
  • Becky Porzillo | Watermark Journey, Group Tour Manager
  • Sarah Allen | Indian Creek School, Director of Curriculum and Instruction
  • Josh Schmidt | AMM Education Volunteer
  • Carol Sisco, Ph.D. | AMM Chairman
  • Anne Harrington | AMM Board of Directors
  • Jack Whitelaw | AMM Board of Directors
  • Ted Berkinshaw | AMM Board Member
  • Megan Fink | AMM Education Director